Web Publishing

On my former blog site I mention that I have been posting all of my original content on a website called Triond.com.  It was an experiment with the new publishing medium of the web.  I still believe that it, web publishing, is a powerful medium as far as reaching people with new writings.  Certainly it has a broader reach that the current print publication industry, especially if you do not fit a genre or editorial format that can be capitalized upon.  But the web provides access to an audience without a publisher, publicist, or editor: for good or ill. Perhaps it is a new way of getting the industry to take notice: ‘Hey, here is somebody we can make money off of!’.

I worked with Triond.com for about half a year, and the site has grown more frustrating through that time.  It is clunky and has too many error messages as well as irregular access to your material.  Yes you might be able to make money off of the site, but I did not.  I am use to  no income from print industry so no big disappointment there.  I continue to write and will do so on the web.  It will not be through Triond.com.  There are other venues out there, including webpress.com.

All the material that in theory was published on that web site by me, and according to their initial information about their site still belongs to me, will be posted eventually on wordpress.com.  There may be a small lag time in getting all of Living With a Stranger: self portrait, keyed into this blog.  I am eager to see if it has any effect on an audience, both the new material and the old.

Hope you enjoy it and stick around.

Tags: ,

About johnsmithiiimxiii

John Smith, IIMXIII is the avatar of an award winning poet, artist, etc. who still lives in the Palouse country of the Pacific NW. He has not received much notice with his prose . . . but as his avatar, I hope that he keeps plugging along.

Leave a Reply

