Fighting Kleptocracy

 

“I dwell in possibilities, a fairer house than prose.”

by E. Dickenson

I revel in poetry. It seems much more appropriate to the realm of desire and illusion we live in. And remember, control is an illusion too. But I did have to take expository writing along the way.

This is a notice to the peace-loving people of the world. As children, we in the U.S. were taught that our system has checks and balances. Many of us see and understand what is happening here today as reprehensible. I am sure that some in the audience I am reaching find similar problems in all governing bodies in the world. Do not give up. We are all trying to fix the “system” as best we can or at least not get ground under by it until somebody or something does. I have fallen off the path many times, yet I have tried to find my way back to it many times also, the same course, a better course, who knows. It is a painful process, frustrating.

My next posts will be a series of letters I wrote, and the responses I have received during my exploration of those checks and balances.  Doing my “civic duty” if you will. Then, back to poetry and sorcery.

These letters were forwarded to my congressmen and senators, some via e-mail when available on their websites, some via USPS. My second letter to the intelligence committees of House and Senate went out via USPS. There are what, thirty-eight members? I also directed it to House and Senate majority and minority leaders, speaker of the House and a couple of Congressional members I thought might appreciate it. I have only heard back from my state representatives. As an after-thought, I sent a thank-you letter to the director of the FBI. Nothing back from most everybody . . . including those harangues to the White House mentioned in an earlier post.

The documents have been redacted in order to make anybody who wants to find the person who motivates this avatar work a little harder. If people actually have a strong stomach to read the political rhetoric, they will see that cognitive dissonance seems to nest in political minds nicely.  It is particularly evident in these Republican congressmen about the Affordable Care Act.  They blame the financial pitfalls of the act on Democrats, when it was a combined Congress’s compromises on top of a fear of “socialized” medicine taking the place of “for profit” medicine and an exploitive insurance system who sabotaged the Act. They have not looked inside themselves with the empathy needed to realize the system is damaged not in the favor of helping humanity, but in favor of profit for the top members of a hierarchy and actively teaching people to believe that they too can claw their way to the top, “Social Darwinism” so to speak.  The thoughtful and responsible response would be to work together to repair the damage to the act.  “Confirmation Bias” seems to have taken hold.

Since I have not mastered all the techniques of this blog software yet, I will be placing one letter to a post.  I know there must be a way to do it in one or two posts, but it escapes me at the moment.  I apologize for making it torturous for readers.

The last three months have been quite a roller coaster of hope and dread.  Today I am leaning toward the justice system in all these seeming criminal acts of my government.  I leave it up to the World Court and Interpol to look at the rest of the world.  If we can not fix our problems, I hope they will take a look at my country as well. After all, it is starting to look like crimes against humanity no matter how hard we seem to helplessly fight against our current administration’s behavior.

About johnsmithiiimxiii

John Smith, IIMXIII is the avatar of an award winning poet, artist, etc. who still lives in the Palouse country of the Pacific NW. He has not received much notice with his prose . . . but as his avatar, I hope that he keeps plugging along.

Leave a Reply

